
Elk Neck State Park Hunting 2023-2024                

Rules, Regulations and Policies 

1. NEW for 2023-2024:  Due to planned large-scale park improvement projects, the Turkey 

Point Area and the North East Beach Area will be closed to hunting for the 2023-2024 

season.   

2. Bow hunters are required to wear fluorescent orange or daylight fluorescent pink 

during firearm and muzzleloader seasons and Junior Hunt Day:   

a. October 19 – October 28, November 25 – December 9,                                   

December 16 – December 30, 2023, and January 5 – January 6, 2024.  

b. Junior Hunt Day:  November 11, 2023.  

3. All deer harvested count toward the state bag limits. 

4. Shooting Hours 

a. ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset. 

b. Hunters are permitted in the hunting areas 2 hours before sunrise and up to       

2 hours after sunset.   

5. Hunting is prohibited on Sundays. 

6. Hunting is prohibited above or within 50 yards of a trail or road. 

7. A Free Public Hunting Permit is required to hunt at Elk Neck State Park.  Every 

hunter must have their own permit.  These permits are NOT transferable.   

8. All State and Federal hunting laws, as well as park regulations, will be strictly enforced.  

9. Hunters (and non-hunting companions) must sign in and sign out at the sign-in box 

at each parking area EVERY time they enter or exit the hunting areas.  

10. All harvested deer must be recorded at the sign-in box. 

11. Park in designated areas only, located in parking spaces adjacent to the sign-in box. 

Designated parking is indicated by a “P” on the park hunting maps. 

12. Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their 

vehicle. 

13. Hunt in designated areas only.  Call 410-260-8888 prior to tracking outside of the hunting 

area. 

14. Boundary signs are posted and maps are available on the Elk Neck State Park website at 

dnr.maryland.gov/publiclands/Pages/central/ElkNeck/Hunting.aspx.  If you are unsure of 

a boundary or any rule or regulation, contact a Ranger at 443-252-4258. 

15. Portable tree stands are permitted, but cannot be screwed or nailed into trees.  Tree stands 

cannot remain in areas when not occupied by a hunter. 

16. Do not field dress near trails, parking lots, or any areas used by other park visitors. 

17. Junior Hunt Day is November 11, 2023.  Bow only; muzzleloader and firearms are not 

permitted on this day. 

18. All deer harvested must be checked in within 24 hours.  Visit 

https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal or call 1-888-800-0121. 

19. Maryland State Parks are “Trash Free”; all trash must be packed out. 

20. The Maryland Natural Resources Police has partnered with Maryland Wildlife 

Crimestoppers to prevent poaching of our fish and wildlife resources.  You can report 

poaching and wildlife crime while remaining anonymous and be eligible for a cash 

reward.  You can call or text Maryland Wildlife Crimestoppers at 1-443-433-4112 or 

email mwc.dnr@maryland.gov. 

21. Violating the rules of this program WILL result in citation and loss of hunting 

permit. 
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CARTER PROPERTY 
A maximum of 8 hunters can hunt at any given time on a first-come, first-served basis.  Each 

hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display 

their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle’s dashboard. 

• Hunting Dates 

o Bow  

▪ September 8, 2023 – January 31, 2024 

o Muzzleloader  

▪ October 19 – October 21, 2023 

▪ October 23 – October 28, 2023 – Antlerless Deer Only  

▪ December 16 – December 30, 2023 

o Firearm (Shotgun or Straight-Walled Cartridge Rifle) 

▪ November 25 – December 9, 2023 

▪ January 5 – January 6, 2024 

o Junior Hunt (for hunters 16 years of age and under).  A maximum of 8 youths will 

be permitted.  Only hunters with a Junior Hunting License and Hunter Safety Card 

Number may participate.  Each Junior Hunter must be accompanied in the field by an 

unarmed, licensed adult, age 21 or older.  Each Junior Hunter must sign-in and    

sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their hunting permits on their vehicle’s 

dashboard. 

▪ November 11, 2023. 

o Primitive Deer Hunt Days 

▪ February 1 – February 3, 2024 

  

ROGUES HARBOR (Bow only) 
A maximum of 12 hunters at any given time at Rogues Harbor are permitted on a first come, 

first served basis.  Each hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the 

sign-in sheet and display their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle’s dashboard.   

• Hunting Dates for Rogues Harbor:  October 7, 2023 – January 31, 2024 
 
 

Registration: 
 

• All Hunters that plan to hunt at Elk Neck State Park will need to get their Free Public 

Hunting Permit through COMPASS.   

 

o Hunters must still have their regular hunting license (resident $35.00; non-resident 

$160.00), as well as bow or muzzleloader stamps if applicable (resident $6.00 each;      

non-resident $25.00 each).  

o Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their 

vehicle. 
 

About the registration process: 

• You can apply for a hunting license and Free Public Hunting Permit online at 

https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal, at a Licensing and Registration Service 

Center by appointment only, or through Sport License Agents.  For a list of Agents or to make an 

appointment at Licensing and Registration Center, visit dnr.maryland.gov/Pages/licensing.aspx. 

 

The future of this hunting program depends on you.  Please exercise caution and conduct yourself 

in an ethical, sportsmanlike manner when in the field. 
 

To Contact a Park Ranger or the Natural Resources Police, call 410-260-8888. 

https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal



