
 

 
 
 

    Boat Dealer License 
Applicant’s Guide 

 
 

WHO MUST BE LICENSED 
Natural Resources Article, §8-710, 
Annotated Code of Maryland requires  
a Maryland boat dealer’s license if you 
are engaged in the business of buying, 
selling, or exchanging vessels in 
Maryland.  COMAR 08.04.01.01(B)(7) 
defines “dealer” as any person who is in 
the business of buying, selling, or 
exchanging new and/or used vessels, 
either outright or on conditional sale, 
bailment, lease, chattel mortgage, or 
otherwise, and has an established place 
of business for sale, trade, and display 
of vessels. Statute further clarifies 
“dealer” to include a yacht broker, an 
auctioneer, and a business commonly 
known as a lien and recovery company. 
 
APPLYING for A  
BOAT DEALER LICENSE 
An application (DNR Form B-141) must 
be filed with the DNR Service Center 
serving the county in which the  
business will be located.  
 
An application made in the name of 
a corporation must be signed by  
three officers.  Evidence of a closed 
corporation is required when there are 
less than three officers. 
 

A manufacturer or importer must 
provide their U.S. Coast Guard 
Manufacturer’s Identification Code  
(MIC) prior to license issuance. 
 
LICENSE FEES 
Upon notification of approval of the 
application, a license fee of $25 must be 
paid to the Department. Annual renewal 
requires the $25 fee and confirmation 
that surety remains in force. 
 
SURETY BONDS 
Once your boat dealer application has 
been approved, you must provide 
evidence of surety before your license 
will be issued.  A $20,000 surety bond is 
required for the first license year. Surety 
in subsequent years is determined by a 
review of sales for the twelve months 
prior to issuance of the license renewal 
application, based on the following 
schedule: 
 

Bond       Sales 
$5,000 $500K or less 
$10,000 > $500K but < $1M 
$20,000 > $1M but < $3M 
$50,000 > $3M but < $5M 
$100,000 > $5M but < $10M 
$150,000 > $10M but < $15M 
$200,000 $15M and greater 

 
LICENSE PERIOD 
Boat dealer licenses are issued on a 
calendar year basis, and are valid from 
the date of issuance or renewal through 
December 31 of each year. Proof of 
current surety bond will be required for 
renewal. 
 
DEALER OBLIGATIONS 
Dealership must maintain for 3 years a 
record of any vessel the dealer 
purchased, sold, exchanged, or received 
for sale or exchange; collection and 

remittance of tax & fees; and issuance 
of temporary registration decals. 

 
EXCISE TAX & FEES 
Natural Resources Article, §8-716.1, 
Annotated Code of Maryland, requires 
that a licensed dealer collect vessel 
excise tax and fees, and forward them 
to the Department along with the 
appropriate paperwork within 30 days of 
the date of sale as defined in COMAR 
08.04.01.01. Failure to do so will result 
in a 10% penalty and 1.5% interest per 
month. 

 
LAWS, REGULATIONS  
and PROCEDURES 
A licensed dealer is required to 
understand and comply with all laws, 
regulations and procedures relating to 
the titling and registration of boats.   
 

Annotated Code of Maryland  
can be found at: 

www.michie.com/maryland/ 
Maryland Code 

Natural Resources Article 
Title 8 Waters 

Subtitle 7 State Boat Act 
 

COMAR can be found at:  
http://www.dsd.state.md.us/comar/ 

 
LICENSING & REGISTRATION 

SERVICE CENTERS 
Open Monday-Friday 

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
 

ANNAPOLIS SERVICE CENTER 
Baltimore City, Anne Arundel, Howard, 

Montgomery & Prince George’s counties 
160 Harry S Truman Pkwy 

 P.O. Box 1869 
Annapolis, MD 21404 

410-260-3220 
MD toll free: 1-866-344-8889 

 
CENTRAL  

REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER 
Baltimore, Carroll,  

Cecil & Harford counties 
501 West MacPhail Rd. #2  

Bel Air, MD 21014 
410-836-4550 

MD toll free: 1-866-623-3187 
 

EASTERN  
REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER 

Dorchester, Somerset,  
W icomico & Worcester counties 

251 Tilghman Rd Rm #2  
Salisbury, MD 21804 

410-713-3840 
MD toll free: 1-866-812-1678 

 
EAST CENTRAL  

REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER 
Caroline, Cecil, Kent,  

Queen Anne’s &Talbot counties 
120 Broadway Ave, Ste. 5 

Centreville, MD 21617 
410-819-4100 

MD toll free: 1-866-439-1708 
 

WESTERN 
REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER 

Allegany, Frederick, Garrett &  
Washington counties 

1601-A Bowmans Farm Rd. 
Frederick, MD  21701 

240-236-9950 
MD toll free: 1-866-679-0906 

 
SOUTHERN  

REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER 
Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles,  

Prince George’s & St. Mary’s counties 
14175 Solomons Island Rd. S 

P. O. Box 1309 
Solomons, MD  20688 

410-535-3382 
MD toll free: 1-866-688-3823 
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