Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays

Maryland Critical Area Commission Contacts

Our website is rich in information and should answer most of your questions. However, if you do not find the information you need or answers to your questions on our website, please contact the appropriate person from the list below:

Jennifer Anderson 
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Calvert County
Chesapeake Beach
North Beach

Charles County
Indian Head

Talbot County
Easton
Oxford
St. Michaels

Email: Jennifer.Anderson@maryland.gov  
Phone:  (410) 260-3468

LeeAnne Chandler
Science Advisor

Program and policy issues regarding Habitat Protection Areas, wetlands streams and concerns relating to habitat protection and water quality.  Specific questions about conservation, protective easements, and mitigation.

Jurisdictions:

Maryland Port Administration
Worcester County

E-mail: Leeanne.Chandler@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3477

 

Kate Charbonneau
Regional Program Chief

General project and program questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.  

Jurisdictions: 
Ocean City
Historic St. Mary's City
St. Mary's College

E-mail: Katherine.Charbonneau@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3475

 

Alex Deweese
Natural Resources Planner

Researches issues related to modified buffer areas, sea-level rise, and redevelopment.

E-mail:  Alexandra.Deweese@maryland.gov
410-260-3479

 

Lisa Hoerger
Regulations and Mapping Coordinator

Coordinates among the Commission, State and local governments, and various stakeholders pertaining to regulations and coordinates the remapping of the 1,000-foot Critical Area boundary.  Handles requests for publications and guidance documents, and assistance with web content.

Jurisdictions:

Department of Defense

E-mail: Lisa.Hoerger@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3478

 

Nick Kelly
Regional Program Chief

General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.

Jurisdictions:

Snow Hill
Pocomoke City

E-mail: Nick.Kelly@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3483

 

Julie Roberts
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Baltimore County

Caroline County
Denton
Federalsburg
Greensboro
Hillsboro

Cecil County
Charlestown
Chesapeake City
Elkton
North East
Perryville
Port Deposit

Dorchester County
Cambridge
Secretary
Vienna

Queen Anne’s County
Centreville
Church Hill
Queen Anne
Queenstown

E-mail: Julie.Roberts@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3476

 

Ren Serey
Executive Director

General Questions on the Critical Area Law and Criteria.

E-mail: Ren.Serey@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3462

 

Charlotte Shearin
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions: 

Anne Arundel County
Highland Beach

Kent County
Betterton
Chestertown
Millington
Rock Hall

Somerset County
Crisfield
Princess Anne

E-mail: Charlotte.Shearin@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3480

 

Amber Widmayer
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Annapolis

Baltimore City

Prince George’s County
MNCPPC

Harford County
Aberdeen
Havre de Grace

St. Mary’s County
Leonardtown
Greenwell State Park
WSSC

Wicomico County
Salisbury
Fruitland
Mardela Springs
Sharptown

E-mail: Amber.Widmayer@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3481

 

General Critical Area Commission Questions
Phone: 410-260-3460